CITY OF SAN CLEMENTE Monday, October 30, 2023 City Council Special Meeting Minutes



910 Calle Negocio 2nd Floor San Clemente, California www.san-clemente.org Council Chambers

Mayor Duncan Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock Councilmember Cabral Councilmember Enmeier Councilmember Loeffler

6:00 p.m. - Special Meeting

These minutes reflect the order in which items appeared on the meeting agenda and do not necessarily reflect the order in which items were actually considered.

A Special Meeting of the San Clemente City Council was called to order by Mayor Duncan on October 30, 2023 at 6:02 p.m. in the San Clemente City Council Chambers, located at 910 Calle Negocio, 2nd Floor, San Clemente.

**PRESENT:** Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock, Loeffler and Mayor Duncan

**STAFF PRESENT:** Laura Campagnolo, City Clerk; Megan Jimenez, Deputy City Clerk

## SPECIAL MEETING

### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Councilmember Cabral led the Pledge of Allegiance.

### 1. INTERVIEWS/APPOINTMENTS

A. <u>INTERVIEWS AND APPOINTMENTS OF COASTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE,</u> <u>BEACHES, PARKS AND RECREATION COMMISSION AND ARTS AND</u> <u>CULTURE COMMITTEE</u>

<u>Susan Ambrose</u> commented on the talented pool of applicants for the commissions and committees; encouraged candidates to discuss their strengths.

### Coastal Advisory Committee

City Council interviewed the following applicants:

Richard Ayer John Dolegowski (via zoom) Brian Jacobs Matthew Schmitt

Motion by Mayor Duncan, with the support of Councilmember Enmeier and Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock, agendized for the November 7, 2023 Regular City Council meeting, consideration of updating the Ordinance for the Coastal Advisory Committee to expand the Committee from five to seven members. Councilmembers cast written ballots to fill one term set to expire June 30, 2024, which were announced verball by City Clerk Campagnolo as follows:

CABRAL: Schmitt ENMEIER: Jacobs KNOBLOCK: Ayer LOEFFLER: Schmitt MAYOR DUNCAN: Schmitt

Matthew Schmitt was appointed to the Coastal Advisory Committee for a term set to expire June 30, 2024.

### Beaches, Parks and Recreation Commission

Council interviewed the following applicants:

Melissa Brooks Tawni Burns Shari Grace Joan Luke Andrea Mander Teri Rousseau Kenneth Salter Christopher Stevens (via zoom) Dawn Vogelgesang Jill Watson Amelia Mae Weinstein

Councilmembers cast written ballots to fill two terms set to expire June 30, 2024 and one term set to expire June 30, 2025, which were announced verbally by City Clerk Campagnolo.

CABRAL: Burns, Grace, Luke ENMEIER: Mander, Salter, Weinstein KNOBLOCK: Grace, Vogelgesang, Watson LOEFFLER: Grace, Rousseau, Weinstein MAYOR DUNCAN: Burns, Rousseau, Weinstein

Motion by Mayor Duncan, second by Councilmember Loeffler, CARRIED 5-0, to appoint Amelia Mae Weinstein to the Beaches, Parks and Recreation Commission for a term set to expire June 30, 2025 and Shari Grace for a term set to expire June 30, 2024.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock, Loeffler and Mayor Duncan

NOE: None

Council cast a second round of written ballots to determine who would fill the

remaining vacancy on the Beaches, Parks and Recreation Commission for terms set to expire June 30, 2024.

CABRAL: Burns ENMEIER: Rousseau KNOBLOCK: Burns LOEFFLER: Rousseau MAYOR DUNCAN: Rousseau

Teri Rousseau and Shari Grace were appointed to the Beaches, Parks and Recreation Commission for terms set to expire June 30, 2024. Amelia Mae Weinstein was appointed to the Beaches, Parks and Recreation Commission for a term set to expire June 30, 2025.

#### Arts and Culture Committee

Council interviewed the following applicants:

Sherman Fowler Jacqui Groseth Kurt Heinzelman Shane Hirschman Kathi Koehler Joshua Paskowitz Amanda Quintanilla Pamela Roth Michael Skidmore Nicholas Crays Patricia Arlene Drew Amanda Greco

Amanda Cobb and Kathryn Stovall Dennis were unavailable for interviews.

Councilmembers cast written ballots to fill four terms set to expire June 30, 2026 and three terms set to expire June 30, 2025, which were announced verbally by City Clerk Campagnolo as follows:

**CABRAL:** Crays, Greco, Groseth, Koehler, Paskowitz, Quintanilla, Roth **ENMEIER:** Crays, Drew, Fowler, Greco, Groseth, Hischman, Koehler **KNOBLOCK:** Cobb, Crays, Groseth, Heinzelman, Koehler, Paskowitz, Roth **LOEFFLER:** Crays, Fowler, Greco, Hischman, Paskowitz, Quintanilla, Roth **MAYOR DUNCAN:** Cobb, Crays, Fowler, Greco, Hirschman, Koehler, Paskowitz

Motion by Councilmember Cabral, second by Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock, CARRIED 5-0, to appoint Nicholas Crays, Amanda Greco, Kathi Koehler, Joshua Paskowitz to the Arts and Culture Committee for terms set to expire June 30, 2026.

**AYE:** Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock, Loeffler and Mayor Duncan

NOE: None

Council cast a second round of written ballots to determine who would fill the remaining three terms set to expire June 30, 2025, which were announced verbally by City Clerk Campagnolo as follows:

CABRAL: Fowler, Groseth, Roth ENMEIER: Fowler, Groseth, Hirschman KNOBLOCK: Fowler, Groseth, Roth LOEFFLER: Fowler, Hirschman, Roth MAYOR DUNCAN: Fowler, Groseth, Hirschman

Motion by Mayor Duncan, second by Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock, CARRIED 5-0, to appoint Sherman Fowler and Jacqui Groseth to the Arts and Culture Committee for terms set to expire June 30, 2025.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock, Loeffler and Mayor Duncan

NOE: None

Council cast a third round of written ballots to determine who would fill the remaining term set to expire June 30, 2025, which were announced verbally by City Clerk Campagnolo as follows:

CABRAL: Roth ENMEIER: Hirschman KNOBLOCK: Roth LOEFFLER: Hirschman MAYOR DUNCAN: Hirschman

Motion by Mayor Duncan, second by Councilmember Enmeier, CARRIED 5-0, to appoint Shane Hirschman to the Arts and Culture Committee for a term set to expire June 30, 2025.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock, Loeffler and Mayor Duncan

NOE: None

Mayor Duncan left the dais at 8:02 p.m.

### 2. Adjournment

Motion by Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock, second by Councilmember Enmeier, CARRIED 4-0 (Mayor Duncan absent), to adjourn at 8:09 p.m. The next Regular Meeting will be held on November 7, 2023. Closed Session will begin at 5:00 p.m. The Business Meeting will commence at 6:00 p.m. The meeting will take place at City Hall Council Chambers, located at 910 Calle Negocio, 2nd Floor, San Clemente.

# **Special Meeting Minutes**

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock and Loeffler

NOE: None

ABSENT: Mayor Duncan

MAYOR of the City of San Clemente, California

CITY CLERK of the City of San Clemente, California