CITY OF SAN CLEMENTE Tuesday, September 5, 2023 City Council Special Meeting Minutes



910 Calle Negocio 2nd Floor San Clemente, California www.san-clemente.org Council Chambers

3:00 p.m. - Business Meeting

Mayor Duncan Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock Councilmember Cabral Councilmember Enmeier Councilmember Loeffler

These minutes reflect the order in which items appeared on the meeting agenda and do not necessarily reflect the order in which items were actually considered.

A Special Meeting of the San Clemente City Council was called to order by Mayor Duncan on September 5, 2023 at 3:01 p.m. in the San Clemente City Council Chambers, located at 910 Calle Negocio, 2nd Floor, San Clemente.

 PRESENT: *Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock, Loeffler and **Mayor Duncan *arrived at 3:07 p.m.
STAFF PRESENT: Andy Hall, City Manager; Elizabeth Mitchell, City Attorney; Laura Campagnolo, City Clerk; Megan Jimenez, Deputy City Clerk

BUSINESS MEETING

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Duncan led the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. INTERVIEWS/APPOINTMENTS

A. <u>INTERVIEWS AND APPOINTMENTS FOR THE PUBLIC SAFETY</u> <u>COMMITTEE AND COASTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE</u>

Public Safety Committee

City Council interviewed the following applicants:

Dennis Benjamin Gary Walsh

Councilmembers cast written ballots to fill one term set to expire on June 30, 2024, which were announced verbally by City Clerk Campagnolo as follows:

CABRAL: Walsh ENMEIER: Walsh KNOBLOCK: Benjamin LOEFFLER: Walsh

MAYOR DUNCAN: Benjamin

Gary Walsh was appointed to the Public Safety Committee for a term set to expire on June 30, 2024.

Coastal Advisory Committee

<u>Decline</u> expressed concerns regarding a Coastal Advisory Committee applicant; spoke in support of Aaron Washington and Suzanne Whitelaw.

City Council interviewed the following applicants:

Susan Ambrose John Dow Thor Johnson Aaron Washington Suzanne Whitelaw

Motion by Councilmember Loeffler, second by Councilmember Enmeier, to appoint all five applicants to the Coastal Advisory Committee.

Substitute motion by Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock, second by Councilmember Cabral, FAILED 2-3 (Mayor Duncan, Councilmember Enmeier and Councilmember Loeffler voting NOE) to vote for applicants individually for either the 1-year term or 2-year term.

AYE: Cabral and Knoblock

NOE: Enmeier, Loeffler and Mayor Duncan

The original motion by Councilmember Loeffler, second by Councilmember Enmeier, CARRIED 3-2 (Mayor Duncan and Councilmember Knoblock voting NOE) to appoint all five candidates to the Coastal Advisory Committee.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier and Loeffler

NOE: Knoblock and Mayor Duncan

Councilmembers cast written ballots to determine which three applicants will fill 2-year terms set to expire June 30, 2025 and which two applicants will fill 1-year terms on the Coastal Advisory Committee, which were announced verbally by City Clerk Campagnolo as follows:

CABRAL: Ambrose (2-year term), Dow (2-year term), Johnson (2 year term), Washington (1-year term), Whitelaw (1-year term)

ENMEIER: Ambrose (2-year term), Dow (2-year term), Whitelaw (2-year term), Washington (1-year term), Johnson (1-year term)

KNOBLOCK: Ambrose (2-year term), Dow (2-year term), Johnson (2-year term), Washington (1-year term)

LOEFFLER: Ambrose (2-year term), Dow (2-year term), Whitelaw (2-year term,

Johnson (1-year term), Washington (1-year term)

MAYOR DUNCAN: Ambrose (2-year term), Dow (2-year term), Whitelaw (2-year term), Johnson (1-year term), Washington (1-year term)

Ambrose, Dow and Whitelaw were appointed to the Coastal Advisory Committee terms set to expire June 30, 2025. Washington and Johnson were appointed to the Coastal Advisory Committee for terms to expire June 30, 2024.

**Mayor Duncan left the dias at 4:20 p.m.

Motion by Councilmember Cabral, second by Councilmember Enmeier, CARRIED 4-0 (Mayor Duncan Absent) to direct the City Clerk to advertise for three vacancies on the Beaches, Parks and Recreation Commission.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock and Loeffler

NOE: None

ABSENT: Mayor Duncan

2. Adjournment

Motion by Councilmember Cabral, second by Councilmember Enmeier, CARRIED 4-0 (Mayor Duncan Absent), to adjourn at 4:24 p.m. The next Regular Meeting will be held on September 5, 2023. Closed Session will begin at 5:00 p.m. The Business Meeting will commence at 6:00 p.m. The meeting will take place at City Hall Council Chambers, located at 910 Calle Negocio, 2nd Floor, San Clemente.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock and Loeffler

NOE: None

ABSENT: Mayor Duncan

MAYOR of the City of San Clemente, California

CITY CLERK of the City of San Clemente, California