CITY OF SAN CLEMENTE Tuesday, May 23, 2023 4:00 PM City Council Special Meeting Minutes



910 Calle Negocio 2nd Floor San Clemente, California www.san-clemente.org Council Chambers

Mayor Duncan Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock Councilmember Cabral Councilmember Enmeier

4:00 p.m. - Special Meeting

These minutes reflect the order in which items appeared on the meeting agenda and do not necessarily reflect the order in which items were actually considered.

A Special Meeting of the San Clemente City Council was called to order by Mayor Duncan on June 23, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. in the San Clemente City Council Chambers, located at 910 Calle Negocio, 2nd Floor, San Clemente.

PRESENT: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock and Mayor Duncan

STAFF PRESENT: Andy Hall, City Manager; Elizabeth Mitchell, City Attorney; Laura Campagnolo, City Clerk; Megan Jimenez, Deputy City Clerk

SPECIAL MEETING

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

City Manager Hall led the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. Interviews/Appointment

A. <u>CITY COUNCIL CANDIDATE INTERVIEW PROCESS AND APPOINTMENT</u> <u>Mike Blackwell</u> spoke in support of Zhen Wu.

<u>Amanda Q</u> narrated a PowerPoint presentation entitled "Appointment for a city council member". A hard copy of the presentation is on file with the City Clerk.

Lisa Hazelton expressed support for Aaron Washington.

City Council interviewed the following applicants for three minutes in a randomized order as follows: Donna Vidrine Mikii Rathmann (Participated via Zoom) Cameron Cosgrove Zhen Wu Rick Loeffler James Whelan Gary McCaughan (Participated via Zoom) Aaron Washington Tim Brown Tyler Boden Sommer Swanke Tom Streeter Christina Selter Barton Crandell Scott Harris (Participated via Zoom) Dennis Kamp Donald Brown Lois McNicoll Amatangelo Pasciuti Edward Messinger

Councilmembers cast written ballots in support of candidates to move on in the interview process.

Meeting Recessed

Council recessed the meeting at 5:20 p.m., and reconvened at 5:31 p.m. with all Councilmembers present.

City Clerk Campagnolo announced the nominations and recorded the votes as follows:

CABRAL: Brown (Tim), Cosgrove, Loeffler, Washington ENMEIER: Cosgrove, Kamp, Pasciuti, Vidrine, Wu KNOBLOCK: Crandell, Selter, Stolrow, Streeter, Washington DUNCAN: Kamp, Loeffler, Pasciuti, Vindrine, Wu

Council determined to interview all of the candidates that received two votes. Council interviewed the following individuals in the random order below:

Aaron Washington Dennis Kamp Amatangelo Pasciuti Rick Loeffler Zhen Wu Cameron Cosgrove Donna Vidrine

Counilmembers cast written ballots for two candidates, City Clerk Campagnolo totaled the votes and announced the votes as follows:

CABRAL: Cosgrove, Loeffler ENMEIER: Kamp, Pasciuti KNOBLOCK: Cosgrove, Washington DUNCAN: Loeffler, Pasciuti Council determined to further consider the candidates that received two votes:

Cameron Cosgrove Rick Loeffler Amatangelo Pasciuti

Motion by Councilmember Cabral, second by Mayor Duncan, to appoint Rick Loeffler to the vacant City Council seat for a term to expire November 2024.

Substitute motion by Councilmember Enmeier, second by Mayor Duncan, to appoint Amatangelo Pasciuti to the vacant City Council seat for a term to expire November 2024.

Substitute motion by Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock, second by Councilmember Cabral, FAILED 2-2 (Councilmember Enmeier and Mayor Duncan voting Noe) to appoint Cameron Cosgrove to the vacant City Council seat for a term to expire November 2024.

AYE: Cabral and Knoblock

NOE: Enmeier and Mayor Duncan

The substitute motion by Councilmember Enmeier, second by Mayor Duncan, FAILED 2-2 (Councilmember Cabral and Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock voting Noe) to appoint Amatangelo Pasciuti to the vacant City Council seat for a term to expire November 2024.

AYE: Enmeier and Mayor Duncan

NOE: Cabral and Knoblock

The original motion by Councilmember Cabral, second by Mayor Duncan, CARRIED 3-1 (Mayor Pro Tem Knoblock voting Noe), to appoint Rick Loeffler to the vacant City Council seat for a term to expire November 2024.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier and Mayor Duncan

NOE: Knoblock

2. Adjournment

Motion by Councilmember Enmeier, second by Councilmember Cabral, CARRIED 4-0, to adjourn at 7:24 p.m. to an Adjourned Regular Meeting to be held on June 5 at 2:00 p.m. for the purpose of interviewing and appointing City Commission and Committee Members.

The next Regular Meeting will be held on June 6, 2023. Closed Session will begin at 5:00 p.m. The Business Meeting will commence at 6:00 p.m. The meeting will take place at City Hall Council Chambers, located at 910 Calle Negocio, 2nd Floor, San Clemente.

AYE: Cabral, Enmeier, Knoblock and Mayor Duncan

NOE: None

MAYOR of the City of San Clemente, California

CITY CLERK of the City of San Clemente, California