

Respond to: San Diego office

www.epsten.com 800,300,1704

June 29, 2017

Michael Kraman Chief Executive Officer Transportation Corridor Agencies P.O. Box 57011 Irvine, CA 92619-7011

Re: Marblehead Master Association Opposition to Toll Road

Our File No. 5970.01

Dear Mr. Kraman:

This office represents Marblehead Community Association ("Association"). We are writing with regard to the proposed toll road route through the City of San Clemente. If approved, the construction of the toll road will result in a taking of the Association's open space common area, and will have a significant impact on the residents of the Association and the surrounding environment. The purpose of this letter is to notify you that the Association vehemently opposes the construction of the toll road, and will stand with the City of San Clemente, and neighboring community associations and land owners to ensure this project is never approved.

The Marblehead community includes seven sub-associations consisting of 997 individual residences and related common area. The proposed toll road would require a taking of a portion of the Association's open space common area. When the Marblehead community was developed in 1982, the developer was required to preserve certain areas of open space for the preservation of natural ecology, aesthetics, and safety of the surrounding residences. The Association is mandated to maintain these areas as open space, and is forbidden from building in these areas.

The toll road, as proposed, would eliminate a portion of this open space and replace it with the visual, auditory, and environmental pollution associated with the construction and use of the toll road. This will not only have a significant impact on the residents' use and enjoyment of the surrounding properties, but will also have a significant impact on property values. The proposed toll road will destroy the open space that was painstakingly preserved through the approval process for the development of the community, and will destroy the natural ecology, aesthetic value, peacefulness and desirability of the Marblehead community and the City of San Clemente overall.

The Association and its members strongly oppose the development of the toll road in the proposed location through the City of San Clemente. There are alternative 3252283v1

Michael Kraman Chief Executive Officer Transportation Corridor Agencies June 29, 2017 Page 2

sites which will better accommodate the proposed toll road with fewer adverse effects to the public. Please make every effort to redirect this project towards a location better suited for such a purpose.

Sincerely,

EPSTEN GRINNELL & HOWELL, APC

Carrie M. Timko

cc: Distribution List Attached

Michael Kraman
Chief Executive Officer
Transportation Corridor Agencies
June 29, 2017
Page 3

TCA Board of Directors

Anthony Beall: tbeall@cityofrsm.org
Bert Hack: bhack@comline.com

Regina Blankenhorn: rblankenhorn@tustinca.org

Christina Shea: cshea@ci.irvine.ca.us Chuck Puckett: retiredpucketts@gmail.com Cindy Sands: csands@ci.laguna-hills.ca.us Ed Sachs: esachs@cityofmissionviejo.org Rosa Flores: RFlores@santa-ana.org Irene Isolda: iisolda@yorba-linda.org

Jennifer Connally: jconnally@lakeforestca.gov Joseph L. Muller: jmuller@danapoint.org Kathy Ward: WardK@san-clemente.org Lisa Bartlett: lisa.bartlett@ocgov.com Marcia Brown: mbrown@yorba-linda.org MarkMurphy: councilman@markmurphy.com Melody Carruth: melcarruth4@gmail.com Ross Chun: rchun@cityofalisoviejo.com

Ryan Chamberlain: Ryan.Chamberlain@dot.ca.gov

Scott Peotter: speotter@newportbeachca.gov

Scott Voigts: svoigts@lakeforestca.gov Shawn Nelson: shawn.nelson@ocgov.com

Todd Spitzer: t.spitzer@ocgov.com

Fred Minagar: fminagar@cityoflagunaniguel.org Gary Monahan: gary.monahan@costamesaca.gov

San Clemente Mayor Kathy Ward: WardK@san-clemente.org

Senator Pat Bates: Senator.Bates@Senate.ca.gov

Assembly Member Bill Brough: Assemblymember.Brough@assembly.ca.gov Lisa Bartlett, OC Board of Supervisors, District 5: Tanya.Flink@ocgov.com Michelle Steel, OC Board of Supervisors, District 2: Michelle.Steel@ocgov.com Todd Spitzer, OC Board of Supervisors, District 3: Todd.Spitzer@ocgov.com Andrew Do, OC Board of Supervisors, District 1: First.District@ocgov.com Shawn Nelson, OC Board of Supervisors, District 4: Jim.M.Francis@ocgov.com Ryan Chamberlain, Director, Caltrans District 12: Debra.Smith@dot.ca.gov Mike Kraman, CEO, TCA: mkraman@thetollroads.com